Retrieving responses from an API's directory(?)

Hello,

I am brand new to the world of ipfs, so please forgive me if I misuse any terms, or use terms that aren’t applicable to ipfs.

I want to build a tool that makes API requests and stores their responses, kind of like a metadata scraper for an API.

Specifically, I want to make a tool that retrieves .json responses from known addresses in the form of ipfs://exampleCID/index

For example:
ipfs://exampleCID/1 (startIndex)
ipfs://exampleCID/2
ipfs://exampleCID/3
ipfs://exampleCID/n (endIndex)

The simple solution would just be to fire a bunch of requests from startIndex to endIndex, but usually the simplest solution is not the most optimal…

So I was wondering… what is the best way to accomplish this? Is there some black magic batching where I can download the entire directory or parallel request feature with ipfs?

Also, what is the best way to actually send the equivalent to a GET request? Without the use of a specialized client, the only way that I can find right now is to send a regular GET request to a gateway of some sort, like ipfs.io/ipfs/

I am planning to use Django for a backend, although if anyone knows a framework that works better with ipfs, or is better suited for this kind of task, please do not hesitate to recommend it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

(Reposting notes from Matrix + new ones, in case it is useful for other folks trying to build mental model for using IPFS in their app’s infra/architecture)

• If you mean seeking within a single file, ipfs cat supports offset and length parameters that allow you to read arbitrary byte ranges without fetching the entire DAG. HTTP gateways support regular range-requests (HTTP range requests - HTTP | MDN) and, like ipfs cat, translate them into fetching the minimal subset of a DAG.