Restricted Network on IPFS

Hello everyone!

I’m new to IPFS, I’ve been reading the documentation

I’m trying to build a distributed project on top of IPFS. Since I’m new, I’ve been reading the documentation and I’ll now start running some tests.
For my project, I want the network of peers that hold a “copy” of the content to be restricted but everyone in the world able to access the content. I refer as the network to be restricted because I want certain requirements to be met, in order to join the network. One of the requirements would be to use a raspberry pi as the underlying device.

Just wanted to verify that I’m on the right track here.
As far as I understood, I’ll need an IPFS cluster but I wanted to confirm! Any tips on this?

Cheers!

I’m a little confused. I don’t quite understand, "I want the network of peers that hold a “copy” of the content to be restricted but everyone in the world able to access the content. " If anyone can access the content then anyone can hold a copy of the content so I don’t get what’s restricted. Do you mean restricted that only certain people can join the network in the first place?

I have no idea how you’d enforce a restriction like someone must be running a Raspberry PI but access to the network is going to be limited to anyone with with the swarm key how you do that is up to you. Setting up a revocation scheme is also an open problem.

I refer as the network to be restricted because I want certain requirements to be met

Sounds suspiciously like centralisation. :slight_smile:

One of the requirements would be to use a raspberry pi as the underlying device.

That physicaly not possible, you can’t prove that you run on an RPI. I could just take your code, compile it for something else and run on an other machine.
Plus why do you really care about that ? I mean if someone wants to use an 8 core 64 Gig machine with 10Gbps internet because an RPI is too slow, why is that an issue ?

Yes :slight_smile: