Question regarding backend software

I’m a fullstack developer excited to jump on the Web 3.0 bandwagon while it’s still early.
But I have one question: is it possible to run PHP apps on the IPFS protocol?
Or is it really just frontend only?

And if it’s possible to run PHP apps, how would I secure files others shouldn’t be able to read, like configuration files with database passwords in them?
And where does the database get run from, now that the middleman (aka, server) gets cut out?

Please remain nice, if it’s impossible, I’m still willing to figure out some workaround (like exporting static versions for use on IPFS for example).

The problem of PHP is that it would need to run in the user machine.

When building web apps you have 2 sides :

• The code that run on the user computer (client)
    For example javascript in their browser, their IPFS node, …
  • And the code that run on your own computers (servers)
    For example a PHP + mysql server.
    I guess you already knew that.

What web 3.0 is about, is removing the second category, you now only have the first, the code running the client (and also making this code opensource and reviewing it so users trust this code).
Actually it’s not really removing servers, you still have other computers, you just don’t trust them, whatever they do is seen as wrong unless proven otherwise.
So whatever your protocol does must be checked by the client, ideally all the way your server could cheat must be fixed in the client.

There are many ways to fix this, one example is for everyone to run everything, so if an other computer do a calculation other one need to know about (example moving money from an account to an other), instead of sending the result authoritarly, you send cryptographical proof from the sender account and everyone checks it and moves funds accordingly on their side, and everyone keep track of the current state and change it accordingly.
This is how blockchain works for example.