OK, so connecting browsers to IPFS seems like pretty much a complicated story

So before I start setting it up, help me understand what is the simplest way for browser nodes to discover and connect to IPFS nodes. I see many variants there and I’m new to this field, so what is the best option for the most decentralized website you can get? Thanks!

1 Like

I’m trying to get a blog post up about this. For now, I hope this draft helps you on your adventure.

tl;dr you’ll likely want a combination of:

1. Reliable bootstrap node(s)
  2. WebRTC-Star
  3. circuit-relay

Thank you very much, will read that now.

Will try to implement this tomorrow, I just wanna drop one (pretty much political) point here: We won’t get far with decentralized web if setting up is this complicated! And I know for sure things could be much much simpler with proper native support in browsers. Things need to go much faster toward decentralized web, Chrome and Firefox are fucking snails in this field. I believe it’s intentional.

After all, this is not fully decentralized at all. Don’t want to hurt anyone, especially not developers working on the case but until some peer discovery protocol is not natively supported in web browsers, we can’t say we decentralized the web.

This document is linked in your tutorial: GitHub - libp2p/js-libp2p-webrtc-star: libp2p WebRTC transport that includes a discovery mechanism provided by the signalling-star

Trying to start signalling server gives:
/usr/local/lib/node_modules/libp2p-webrtc-star/node_modules/@hapi/teamwork/lib/index.js:8
#meetings = null;
^
SyntaxError: Invalid or unexpected token

I’m not anywhere close to Javascript expert, but is “#” allowed at all in Javascript? I think not?

The “ipfs://” protocol type is supported in Brave browser at least, but you may already know that. I’m not sure how Brave goes about selecting a gateway to pull from, but there must be some config setting for that.