Is there a way to see what hashes does a peer have?

Hi!! I’m new to IPFS, just toying and learning. I’ve found that I can connect to a peer from the peer list, but once connected, I don’t know what else to do! Is it possible to see “what they have”? or the only way to access a content is to directly know the hash of it (and what it has)?

hello ,

with pubsub experimental feature you can send a direct message for example you can see ipfs-shipyard/pubsub-room on github. I’m not sure you can access for example DHT. if you need know if a peer know a CID you can use findprovs : https://ipfs.io/docs/commands/#ipfs-dht-findprovs

Regards

2 Likes

Thanks for the info!! I’ve tried the pubsub function… yet to find another (simmilar) problem… how to find pubs to subscribe? ahaha :stuck_out_tongue:

Also I guess it’s because how young IPFS is, but it’s difficult to find content to experiment…

Still there’s no way to find out what files do other peers have? Also, it’d be cool to know if there are repositories or if DHS could be accessed to find out contents out there.

Thanks for the help!!

Afaik that’s not possible. You can find out which nodes have a certain file (i.e. hash), as @josselinchevalay said above (dht findprovs), but listing any and all files on a remote node is not possible, I believe.

1 Like

Yeah, there is no way to ask a peer for what content they have. The closest you can get is to listen to the debug output of go-ipfs (since peers usually announce what content they have) and then build a index of your own. AFAIK, that’s what ipfs-search did to index the DHT. But that’s not neither very user-friendly to setup (you need to write code to parse the debug output of the go-ipfs daemon) or reliable since not all content is announced (content added with --local flag doesn’t get announced for example).