Impacts of IPFS support on Internet usage bills and malware exposure

While running an IPFS node in local mode via Brave Browser, Little Snitch and Virus Barrier (Mac) issue a lot of alerts showing linkages to multiple URLs. Please help this Absolute Newbie by offering your comments about (1) my risks of getting malware into my network via my support for IPFS and (b) chances of growing bandwidth consumption to a level that either causes my ISP to send me a “Dear John” letter or causes my monthly Internet usage bill to become troubling.

Yes, these might seem like silly questions from an IT Neanderthal; but please bear with me. I want to support this great concept, even to the point of getting a cheap and fast computer where all my IPFS support work is isolated from my business projects; but before taking that step I feel the need to get some perspective on the concerns expressed.

Thanks in advance.

BTW — the Forum needs a Newbie Issues/Tutorials section aimed at people who are not IT professionals (other highly IT-educated people). The world needs many thousands of people running nodes in IPFS (or a future better system).

No more than HTTP. If you access malicious content, you receive malicious content.

That’d be a question for your ISP. Sorry, I don’t really understand the question. I think IPFS creates some ambient traffic, but I haven’t had it bother me at all. Looking at my stats over the past 5 days, I have about 15GB “in” and 3.3GB “out”. I’m assuming most of the in was me testing receiving different files/videos over IPFS. I also serve a bunch of content, so that’s likely most of my out.

Nothing’s going to randomly go nuts, so just keep an eye on the stats, figure out what you’re comfortable with.