If 2 nodes upload exactly the same doc at the same time, what happens?

Hi IPFS community!

I am completely new to IPFS and there are still a lot of technical aspects I cannot grasp, so I hope someone here could help me with some of them.

Here is the situation: 2 nodes on the network are going to generate an IPFS address for exactly the same document (its hash should be the same for both the computers), what happens then with their IPFS links? Are they going to be magically the same (making the file initially available at 2 nodes, which would be an awesome feature)? Or they will be different?

Thx in advance for your answers :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes they’re going to be the same, available from both nodes.

1 Like

Yes, as lgierth said, they’ll get the same hash and resolve to the same content.

When people mention that IPFS is content-addressed rather than location-addressed, this is exactly what this means. If two files have the same content (no matter where in the world the files are) they will end up with the same hash representing them. But if you change even one byte, the hash will be different.

That is indeed one of the awesome features of content-addressing :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thanks for your answer!
I just couldn’t believe it would be that easy :stuck_out_tongue:

What’s interesting too is this exchange I had with a web dev friend, and he was very skeptical about the tremendous data replication it would generate for a network.

“Ok bandwidth doesn’t increase as quickly as memory, but we have many reasons to think that bandwidth doesn’t increase because of the huge investments already made in optic fiber during the dotcom bubble and some engineers are saying Moore’s Law is no longer true. So creating that much data replication might not solve the unsustainability problem of the web.”

What do you think about that ?