Hello World! Introducing myself and being inquisitive as a WEB3 noob

Hi Everyone,

There doesn’t seem to be a place where one can introduce yourself on here. I would like to do so now and also pick the collective brain of the forum with a couple of questions. I am very green with concerns to WEB3 tech and have only recently started my journey. But I must admit coming from the centralized web I’m giddy at the prospect of the web returning to what it once was the-web-than-and-now

I’m currently studying everything IFPS, my questions being:

1. IPFS seems to be rooted in GO and JS are there any Python gateways to it? I’ll have to bite the bullet and learn the aforementioned, just wondering if there is a python based way of interacting with it?

2. I’m looking for sites which gives news, tutorials and is everything WEB3. Also are there any books on the subject matter. Currently busy with Mastering Ethereum Building Smart Contracts and Dapps.

3. Besides this forum any other noteworthy social hubs like telegram discord etc? Would really like to immerse myself as much as possible.

And with that I would like to say it is great to make everyone’s acquaintance and am looking forward to many hours spent on here.

1 Like

Hello and thanks for taking an interest in IPFS.

to answer you’re questions:

1: Yes you can interact with IPFS through HTTP API using python, it does however mean whatever code you write will have to run on a server running the IPFS daemon. If you want to look into a fully distributed way to run IPFS you can look at js-IPFS specifically this example, i’m currently trying to get it running under WebAssembly in a language like Rust or Golang so that might be possible in the future.