DCOM - Distributed Community

Alrighty. Here’s the jist.
I had this idea for a forum I wanted to start and was browsing around for platforms. I was thinking maybe Discord, slack could work, DNN or ASP.NET, and then it hit me – all these options either suck, are way too bloated, or just don’t quite live up to their full potential (from a CS POV when looking at this from a global and future proof way).
I’ve been looking into IPFS for a while now and trying to think of a project that could benefit from a distributed system (I have tons of ideas), so it should be of no surprise that I connected these two dots.
What if we were to create a fully distributed community on top of IPFS. I call it a “community” because, if implemented properly, this could be a suitable replacement for chatrooms, forums, IM platforms, even blogs.

I’ve got dozens of ideas but very little clue how to implement this with IPFS. I’d love suggestions or even direct help. I’m an experienced software engineer and can work with JS or even GO with a little brushing up :wink:

What do you think?

1 Like

This sounds a bit like Akasha, though I don’t know if it currently does everything in that list.

I like this idea, too. I’m not the person you’re looking for who can really pitch in and help guide the project. At most, I might be able to help out with a small contribution here and there. But I’m into the idea.

Something I’ve been thinking about: in a decentralized app, the data lives separately from the app. If I use some software, such as your app, to create a post, then that post might be just data that lives on IPFS, and that data could be viewed from other apps as well. Data can become a first-class entity, and apps in this model may become thin layers used to view data in different ways.

I agree – similar, but Akasha sounds VERY limited in it’s ability… Not to mention it doesn’t seem to be very actively developed.