Cannot make any file available to the IPFS network

I’m new to the whole concept of IPFS, I installed go-ipfs on windows 10 and set it up locally, started a daemon in another terminal, added a file using ipfs add <file_path> and got the hash.

But when I tried to access https://ipfs.io/ipfs/{HASH}, the page just loads but doesn’t show anything.
Yes, http://localhost:PORT/ipfs/{HASH} works just fine.
Even curl "https://ipfs.io/ipfs/{HASH}" shows nothing and kinda halts till I press “ctrl+c” to stop it forcefully.

Am I missing something or is there a different approach to upload a file into the ipfs network and make the file available to others?

Probably a problem with the nat traversal. Sometimes it works but most of the time, it doesn’t. Try it with a public ip or forward the port 4001 to your pc. A year ago around version 0.4.17 it worked much better for some reason.

The problem is likely not on your end, been seeing a lot of these reports the past few months.

TLDR: For the past few months content routing (Who can I acquire this data from?) has been having issues, fixes are in the works.

Long Version Below:

Background Info

The method that IPFS uses to locate a peer that can supply us with desired data is called content routing. If the content routing system cannot find a node that can supply a piece of desired data then the data is effectively unreachable.

IPFS currently has 2 methods of content routing.

1. Bitswap Sessions. (BSS)
  2. Distributed Hash Tables. (DHT)

BSS is an unstructured and opportunistic routing strategy that first attempts to see if any connected peers already have the data we want, bypassing a large amount of work that our node would otherwise be required to do if it happens to be successful. For popular content this strategy is surprisingly effective as most of the time one of the ~700 connected peers has this popular data. (i.e WebUI Static files, IPFS Blog posts, etc)