Adding to the output of a CLI command

Hi team,
So, I am just getting started with IPFS and looking at its code. I have a basic task to do, which is to add an arbitrary string to the output of a certain command ( ipfs dht findprovs ). I am very new to go as well as IPFS. Is anyone up for a small meeting where I can learn more about how to go over this task?
A reply describing how to proceed will also be appreciated.

Thanks.

The command engine is a beast.

So the commands live under github.com/ipfs/go-ipfs/core/commands
From here the hiearchy makes sense and you can find the command you are looking for easly (you can also rgrep for the actual command string, rgrep findprovs will show you where it is).

Subcommands: map[string]*cmds.Command{
		"query":     queryDhtCmd,
		"findprovs": findProvidersDhtCmd,
		"findpeer":  findPeerDhtCmd,
		"get":       getValueDhtCmd,
		"put":       putValueDhtCmd,
		"provide":   provideRefDhtCmd,
	},

This is what you should find, this is the subcommand map of the dht command.
Each string is a subcommand and it point to a command object, that object is what you will need to change.
CTRL + Left Click on findProvidersDhtCmd with go-pls to teleport where it is defined (really go-pls is an awesome tool install it (as well as the required bridging plugin for your editor) it’s free and makes life so much better):

var findProvidersDhtCmd = &cmds.Command{
	Helptext: cmds.HelpText{/* ... */},

Arguments: []cmds.Argument{/* ... */},
	Options: []cmds.Option{/* ... */},
	Run: func(req *cmds.Request, res cmds.ResponseEmitter, env cmds.Environment) error {
		// ...
	},
	Encoders: cmds.EncoderMap{
		cmds.Text: cmds.MakeTypedEncoder(func(req *cmds.Request, w io.Writer, out *routing.QueryEvent) error {
			// ...
		}),
	},
	Type: routing.QueryEvent{},
}

(I’ve shorten this code)
The relevent fields are:

Run:

This is a lambda that will be run SERVER SIDE, it is really important to remember, this is the DEAMON running that.